poetry

Nowhere Near Home

I walked all those streets

Passed all those stores

Breathed the air of those fields

But I am nowhere

Near home.

 

 

I talked to many people

Always asking for directions

I played with the little kids

Forgetting my infatuation.

 

 

I ate the Chinese chowmien

Pizza and French toast too

Had cold tea for breakfast

But all

Without you.

 

 

I read many books

Romance, comedy and thriller

Spent rainy afternoon

In the library.

Remembering you

Over coffee.

 

 

I wrote many letters

But never posted them

Carried them

Around the world

And dumped each

On every road.

 

 

I camped near rivers

Or stayed in abandoned homes

The loneliness

Creeping in

Making me

A lunatic.

 

 

I wore a shirt for days

Stitched up those holes

Wore them out

Forgot about

Ever going home.

 

 

I always cleaned up

Never leaving a mess

Never troubled anyone

And head my way again.

 

 

 

This journey, I took for hours

Days, weeks or months

Never finding

Never feeling

How it was

To be home.

Standard

Leave a Reply

